Myhotblog
"Only those who dare going too far can find out how far one can go" T.S.Eliot

FIFTY-FIVE WORD STORIES

falling_coins.jpg
Master Thief
Coins. Nickels, pennies, shining dollars. Inspecting purses browsing pockets, poking couches. Every thing moves from my long fingers into my deep pockets.
Fell in love once. Beautiful meter maid. Begged her to stay. she awoke first; cleaned me out. Boxes of quarters, bags of dimes. Left a note.
“Baby, collecting is my life. Never could change.”
CATHERINE E. MCDONALD
vampire.jpg
First Step
It’s been three days since I’ve had drink. Recently I learned about support groups. There’s one for just about every thing these days. I checked around and found a meeting.
Last time was the first time I hade the nerve to stand up and say, “Hello, I’m sandy, and I’m a vampire.”
May be there’s hope.
TIM SCOTT
bguitar7.jpg
Guitar
He’ll never hold me as he holds that guitar. Hasn’t touched me that way in years.
I’ll get inside the guitar, to be in his arms again.
She spent all day. Sacrificing shape, voice, every thing but desires to be held. Finally inside, mute, invisible, she waited.
“Honey, I’m home! I bought a new guitar!
Honey…?”
JOHN M. DANIEL
wolves_running1.jpg
The Dream
As a child, she dreamt of wolves.
They chased her each night for one year. She ran and was never caught.
Later, she met a man. Playful and protective. Sharp teeth, soft fur.
She still dreams of wolves.
But now, as they lope through her dreams, she runs with them.
A Second Chance
His love had gone. In despair, he flung himself off the Golden Gate Bridge.
Coincidentally, a few yards away, a girl made her own suicide plunge.
The two passed in midair.
Their eyes met.
Their chemistry cliked.
It was true love.
They realized it.
Three feet above the water.
JAY BONESTELL
pic_barricia.png
The Old and the Restless
Mom, 76 and alone, suddenly decided to visit Europe. With Jean, she told us.
My brother and I thought, okay-we can railroad Mom into Happy Heaven as planned, later.
Meanwhile, we roamed the vast estate, happily discussing arrangements.
Then came the postcard.
“Marrying Gene in Paris! He’s only 64 and a doll! Love Mom.”
ANNE G. PHILIPS
It Was a Year Ago
A slight breeze blew as Doug stood starting down at Joey.
“Hello, Joey,” said Doug.
Silence surrounded the two of them.
“Joey, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean it. I didn’t. And, Joey- Merry Christmas.”
Doug placed a rose on Joey’s tombstone and walked away.
“Can you ever forgive me,” he asked, “for driving home drunk?”
GRACE CAGUIMBAGA
blood_for_blood1.jpg
Blood Sure
“Can you keep a secret, Em?”
“Sure”
“Blood sure?”
“Look, Ty—”
“Oh, I forgot. Doctor. Ever since you lift the holler, you’s better’n us kinfolk and our ways.”
Emmet sighed, then extended his palm. He winced as his brother’s blood grew red.
“What secret?”
Blood trickled from between their thumbs.
“Em… I got AIDS, man.”
JOHN HUBBELL
The Bus Station
“One ticket to hell please.”
“I’m sorry; all departures going south are booked up.”
“Anything else leaving tonight?”
“We have one bus heading in the opposite direction.”
“Any seats available?”
“Plenty.”
“Very long ride?”
“No, not really, but you might want to take a good book along. I’ve heard it’s a mighty lonely trip.”
ANDREW E. HUNT
satan-cast-down4.jpg
What The Devil Wanted
The two boys stood watching Satan walk away, the power of his hypnotic eyes still in their minds.
“Geez, what’d he want from you?”
“My soul. How’ about you?”
“A quarter to call home.”
“Oh. Wanna go to get something to eat?”
“Yeah, but I can’t. Now I’m out of money.”
“No problem. I’ve got plenty.”
BRIAN NEWELL
5 Responses to “FIFTY-FIVE WORD STORIES”

  1. Hi. “The dream”, C’est une legende genialle.I like it most 🙂

  2. Hey!
    you have a nice blog. I loved these stories. especially “the second chance”.
    good luck

  3. hey! this is great!!! I love the one called “The dream” I LOVE IT! 😀 good job!

  4. Greatest funny movies, pictures and jokes. Everyday full of new ones….

    FIFTY-FIVE WORD STORIES « Myhotblog…


Leave a Reply

